A Walk That Made my Day

Frustrated and tired
A walk was necessary, I decided.
A stroll through the park nearby
Made me realize what I had passed by.

A bench I found to meditate, 
To think deeply and to entertain.
Passed me ‘uncles’ and ‘aunties’ in their evening walk
Some with their headphones threatening to bulge out.
A grey-haired couple, swiftly paced the paved road,
‘Cause health, I believe, worried them a bit more.

Life around me bubbled.
A lady spoke to herself as she strolled, 
A happy family found peace on a Sunday evening, 
But the youngest son did pull his mother’s hand, 
To make his swing take him to greater heights.
Street kids sweared colloquially at each other, 
Playing unknown games with a bunch of marbles. 
Nudging at each others shorts, dirtying their tiny fists.
How free and careless they seemed to be!

And Suddenly, I realised
What I missed the most.
I confronted my past and asked,
“Won’t u tell me the answer?”
So that I will know what I want in the future!

But the reply it gave startled me.
The answer revealed my wishful thinking
The simple impossibility of it surprised me.
The reality struck me, though I didn’t know how to react.

The answer was plain and simple.
Childhood.

I did not know I was in darkness, 
Until I saw the light.
I did not know I hadn’t beheld pleasure,
Until I saw that family.
I did not know what I’d missed,
Until I saw those joyous children.

I wanted to be that child 
Who cried for her silly mistakes,
Loved unconditionally and felt loved, 
Where homeworks were the only burden
And fights with my best friend
Seemed like World war III.

I wanted to be that child
Who was chased around by her little brother
Whose life revolved around a game of ‘hide and seek’
Who did not mind pleasing people, but demanded to be pleased.

I wanted to be that girl again, 
Whose biggest dream was to fly
Soar higher in the sky, look down 
And feel proud that she had actually flown.
But the subtle thief Time,
Pulled the knot around my kite. 
Life moves on now, bereft dreams
But complete with expectations.

I snapped out of my trance 
Only to realize that Time had again stolen moments from my life.
Moments I had lived by, just a while ago.
You know, loneliness does the trick sometimes,
Making you visit places that you never thought 
You would step into.
Desperation, even more so.
And I was both.

This monotony has begun to frighten me,
Though life around goes on undisturbed.
I found out a dejected heart, 
A worried soul and a desperate teenage.

What next? I know not!

#Amrutha
Posted from WordPress for Android

3 thoughts on “A Walk That Made my Day

Leave a Reply

